Jump to Navigation

Justices of the peace : Marion - Neosho counties

View at Kansas Memory

Creator: Kansas. Governor (1873-1877 : Osborn)

Date: 1873 - 1876

Level of Description: Folder

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Governor's Office, Governor Thomas Andrew Osborn Correspondence Files, Correspondence Received, Subject Files, Box 3 Folder 61

Unit ID: 454156

Space Required/Quantity: [Not stated]

Title (Main title): Justices of the peace : Marion - Neosho counties

Part of: Records of the Kansas Governor's Office. Records of the Kansas Governor's Office : administration of Governor Thomas Andrew Osborn (1873-1877) . Governor Thomas Andrew Osborn correspondence received. Subject files.

Scope and Content

Scope and content: The documents in this file are letters and petitions written to Kansas Governor Osborn that concern the appointment of certain individuals as Justices of the Peace for Marion, Neosho, and surrounding counties. A petition on February 22, 1873, from citizens of Peabody Township, Marion County, ask that John P. Church fill the position as Justice of the Peace. A letter on December 29, 1873, from T. E. Simpson, recommends J. W. Hill as Justice of the Peace of McPherson County. A petition from citizens of McPherson Township, recommend Benjamin E. Smith for the appointment as Justice of the Peace.


Locator Contents

Index Terms

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Kansas State Agencies. Governor's Office. Specific Administrations. Osborn, Thomas Administration.