Jump to Navigation

Counties : Rawlins, memorial

View at Kansas Memory

Creator: Kansas. Governor (1879-1883 : St. John)

Date: 1881

Level of Description: Folder

Material Type: Government record

Call Number: Governor's Office, Governor John Pierce St. John, Correspondence Received, Subject Files, Box 10 Folder 19

Unit ID: 455767

Space Required/Quantity: [Not stated]

Title (Main title): Counties : Rawlins, memorial

Part of: Records of the Kansas Governor's Office. Records of the Kansas Governor's Office : administration of Governor John Pierce St. John (1879-1883). Governor John Pierce St. John correspondence received. Subject files.

Scope and Content

Scope and content: A petition on April 25, 1881 from citizens in Rawlins county ask Kansas Governor St. John to designate and declare Atwood as Temporary County Seat. The petitioners state that Atwood, Kansas is situated within one- and one-half miles of the geographical center of Rawlins county. Accompanying the petition is a letter from the Notary Public of Norton County doing business in Rawlins county stating that J. R. Murry, John Belford, and Jack Reilly swear an oath that the signatures on the petition are genuine. A separate letter asks Governor St. John to appoint Herman Kase as one of the County Commissioners of Rawlins. Additional letters to Governor St. John show support of appointing Herman Kase as well as two other individuals as Commissioners for Rawlins County.


Locator Contents

Index Terms

Creators and Contributors

Agency Classification:

    Kansas State Agencies. Governor's Office. Specific Administrations. St. John, John Administration.