Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Butler
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 4 showing 10 records of 31 total, starting on record 1
1 | 2 | 3 | 4

Augusta Frisco Depot

Picture of property 618 State Street
Augusta (Butler County)
Listed in State Register 2010-11-20

Architect: The Saint Louis and San Francisco Railway Company
Category: rail-related

The St. Louis and San Francisco Railway Line built its first depot in Augusta in 1880, but that building burned in 1909. Plans for a new depot were immediately drawn up, and it closely resembled one of Frisco's six standard combination depots with a passenger waiting area at one end and a freight room at the opposite end. A detached baggage building was erected immediately east of the depot in 1917, and the two buildings were joined together under a single roof in the 1930s. Passenger service ended in 1960, and Frisco abandoned the building in 1984. It was nominated for its association with local transportation history.

Augusta Theater

Picture of property 525 State St
Augusta (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1990-10-30

Architect: L.P. Larsen; Lite Craft-Neon Company
Category: theater

Beaumont Hotel

Picture of property 11651 SE Main Street
Beaumont (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2012-02-03

Architect: Unknown
Category: hotel

The Beaumont Hotel was originally built in 1879 as a railroad hotel, but was significantly remodeled in 1953 to serve as fly-in guests. The building took on its current form through the vision of local rancher James Clinton Squier. By the time Squier purchased the hotel and began remodeling it, his business associates were already using the adjacent pasture as a grass airstrip. Among the character-defining features from the mid-century remodel are viewing decks that were constructed to provide views to the surrounding Flint Hills landscape and the nearby grass airstrip. Soon, the hotel and its restaurant were attracting ranchers, hobby pilots, and day-trippers from nearby Wichita. In 1962, Squier removed the fence between the hotel and airstrip, thus beginning the tradition of pilots taxiing from the airstrip and parking their planes in front of the hotel. The building continues to serve as a hotel and restaurant. It was nominated for its local transportation and agriculture history.

Beaumont State Bank

Picture of property 11651 SE 116th Street
Beaumont (Butler County)
Listed in State Register 2011-05-14

Architect: Unknown
Category: commerce

The Beaumont State Bank building was built in 1915 during a period of local prosperity and reflects the community’s second period of growth, fueled by its role as a railroad junction and oil town. Although Beaumont never met the expectations of 1880s boosters, it began to show signs of permanency in the early 20th century. Beaumont School graduated its first class in 1903. In 1905, William H. Squier opened a hardware store and a lumber yard on Main Street. The Beaumont State Bank was chartered with $10,000 in capital on June 12, 1911, and by 1915 had moved from a “frame store building across Main Street” to a modern brick building. This was the town’s only lending institution, and it thrived during the 1910s and 1920s as the regional oil industry prospered. It did not survive the Great Depression and closed in 1934. The building has remained in private ownership since the bank closure. It was nominated for its local commercial history.

Beaumont St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad Retention Pond

Picture of property SE 116 Street and SE Beaumont Road
Beaumont (Glencoe Township) (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2011-10-06

Architect: St. Lewis, Wichita, and Western Railway Company
Category: outdoor recreation; rail-related; water works

The Beaumont St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad Retention Pond is located just south of Beaumont, an unincorporated village in Butler County. The property is historically associated with the nearby Beaumont St. Louis and San Francisco Railroad Water Tank, which was listed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1993. The St. Louis and San Francisco, colloquially known as the "Frisco," was founded in 1866 as the "Atlantic and Pacific Railroad Company." The Frisco first entered Kansas in 1879, and in 1884 began construction of a new line from Beaumont to Arkansas City, which was eventually extended south from Arkansas City to Enid, Oklahoma in 1907. Beaumont became an important division point along the line, and developed a stock yards, depot, section house, and roundhouse. Most importantly, Beaumont became the place where all passing steam trains took on their water and fuel. The retention pond held the water supply that was piped to the water tank alongside the tracks where steam engines were re-supplied. In the era of steam-powered locomotives, watering stations like this one were essential to railroad transportation. The retention pond is nominated for its local significance in the area of transportation.

Beaumont, St. Louis & San Francisco Railroad Water Tank

Picture of property Jct. Of Third and D Sts.
Beaumont (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1993-08-19

Architect: St. Louis, Wichita and Western Railway Co.
Category: rail-related

Butler County Courthouse

Picture of property 205 W Central Ave
El Dorado (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2002-04-26

Architect: George P. Washburn
Category: courthouse
Thematic Nomination: Historic County Courthouses of Kansas

Creed-Mills House

Picture of property 219 N Maple Street
Douglass (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 2013-06-25

Architect: Undetermined
Category: domestic

Melissa and Henry Creed purchased 80 acres and began construction on this house in 1894. Henry and his son Oscar farmed the land, and in later years Oscar subdivided and sold most of the acreage. Today, the property is less than two acres. Thomas and Charlene Mills purchased the property from the Creed family in 1970. The house is an excellent example of the Folk Victorian style, which was popular during the period between 1870 and 1900 in Kansas. The arrival of the railroads in the area made the availability of standardized dimensionally-cut lumber and mass-produced ornamental detailing available to the rural areas. For the Creed-Mills House, the National Folk form is expressed in its massing and the presence of multiple exterior doors, which occurs frequently on the Folk forms in certain regions. It was nominated for its local significance in the area of architecture.

Douglass Township Community Building

Picture of property 206 S Forest
Douglass (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1995-04-27

Architect: J. Hamilton
Category: auditorium; sports facility

El Dorado Carnegie Library Building (Old)

Picture of property 101 S Star
El Dorado (Butler County)
Listed in National Register 1987-06-25

Architect: John F. Stanton
Category: library
Thematic Nomination: Carnegie Libraries of Kansas

1 | 2 | 3 | 4

New Search