Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Morris
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 3 showing 10 records of 29 total, starting on record 1
1 | 2 | 3

Big John Farm Limestone Bank Barn

Picture of property north of US56, east of Big John Creek, Council Grove vicinity
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 1990-10-25

Architect: Not listed
Category: animal facility

Carlson, Oscar, House

Picture of property KS2, Burdick vicinity
Burdick (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 2000-05-26

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Cottage House Hotel

Picture of property 25 North Neosho
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 1988-08-04

Architect: Not listed
Category: hotel; single dwelling

Council Grove Boy Scout Cabin

Picture of property North Chautauqua St
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in State Register 2020-02-01

Architect: Scouts and local volunteers
Category: meeting hall

Council Grove Carnegie Library

Picture of property 303 West Main
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 1987-06-25

Architect: Not listed
Category: library
Thematic Nomination: Carnegie Libraries of Kansas

Council Grove Downtown Historic District

Picture of property Generally spanning from the Neosho River to Belfry on W. Main and extending north to Columbia between Neosho and Mission.
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 2010-07-30

Architect: Louis Simon, Charles Squires
Category: courthouse; domestic; government office; post office; clinic; theater; religious facility; civic; clubhouse; meeting hall; road-related; commerce

Council Grove is located at the head of the Neosho River, which stretches southeast 450 miles through southeast Kansas to Oklahoma. The traditional home of the Kansa, Osage, and Wichita Indians, the Neosho Valley faced a period of rapid change during the mid-19th century when the area was opened to Euro-American traders, emigrants, and settlers. The original town was platted parallel to the Neosho, and the commercial district expanded west of and perpendicular to the river along West Main Street. The downtown buildings represent a century of commercial growth and development from the city's earliest days as a western outfitting post on the Santa Fe Trail through World War II. Most of the district's buildings are located in traditional commercial blocks and display a wide range of popular architectural styles from ornate 1880s Italianate and Romanesque designs to simple 1920s Commercial-style structures. The district boundaries are concentrated along three-and-a-half blocks of Main Street.

Council Grove Missouri, Kansas and Texas Depot

Picture of property 512 East Main Street
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 2001-10-11

Architect: Not listed
Category: rail-related
Thematic Nomination: Historic Railroad Resources of Kansas

Council Grove National Bank

Picture of property 130 West Main
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 1976-06-03

Architect: Not listed
Category: commercial district

Council Grove's Santa Fe Trail-related National Historic Landmark

Picture of property
Council Grove (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 1985-05-06

National Historic Landmark, 5/23/1963

Architect: Not listed
Category: transportation

These six resources relating to the Santa Fe Trail era were surveyed and listed as a National Historic Landmark in 1963 and were subsequently listed in the National Register on 10/15/1966. The trail ruts, dating from the mid-1800s, are located approximately one mile east of Council Grove city limits. The Council Oak is located beneath a protective pavilion on the west side of Main Street next to the Missouri Pacific Railroad. Its significance is derived from the council of three U. S. Commissioners and the leaders of the Great and Little Osage Indians, which took place underneath the tree August 10, 1825. The Post Office Oak was an important landmark along the Santa Fe Trail where travelers often left messages for other travelers. Seth Hays opened the Hays Tavern in 1847, and the current building dates to 1857. It is located on Main Street. Hays' house dates to 1855 and is a small one-story brick structure located two blocks south of Main Street. The Last Chance Store is a one-story stone building built in 1857 that provided the last chance to purchase provisions for the long journey westward. The National Register nomination was updated in 1985.

Diamond Spring

Picture of property Wilsey vicinity
Wilsey (Morris County)
Listed in National Register 1976-09-30

Architect: Not listed
Category: conservation area

1 | 2 | 3

New Search