Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

County: Ness
Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 1 of 1 showing 8 records of 8 total, starting on record 1

Carver, George Washington, Homestead Site

Picture of property 1 1/2 miles south of Beeler
Beeler (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 1977-11-23

Architect: Not listed
Category: single dwelling

Indian Village on Pawnee Fork

Picture of property Address Restricted
Bazine vicinity (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 2010-06-17

Architect: Not Applicable
Category: archaeological site

The Indian Village on Pawnee Fork is nationally significant for its association with the General Winfield Scott Hancock's expedition through the southern plains in the 1860s and 1870s and the ensuing conflict often referred to as Hancock's War. George Armstrong Custer, who was then a Lieutenant Colonel, experienced his first encouter with the Plains Indian warriors at the village. On April 14, 1867, General Hancock ordered Custer to surround the village and hold its inhabitants for further negotiations. Upon his arrival, though, it was found empty of inhabitants except for an elderly Sioux man, an Indian woman, and a young girl. Custer ordered his troups to give chase, but the Sioux and Cheyenne outdistanced them. This failure helped in forming his ideas regarding proper strategy in later engagements. He determined that dividing his forces and attacking from many directions, so as to afford no opportunities for his adversaries to escape, would be most productive. That strategy succeeded in his surprise attack on Black Kettle's village at the Washita, but proved to be disastrous at Little Bighorn. Hancock's forces destroyed the Village on Pawnee Fork, which set the tone for the remainder of the Plains Indan Wars.

Lion Block

Picture of property 216 W Main
Ness City (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 2008-10-16

Architect: Henry Tilley
Category: vacant/not in use; specialty store; meeting hall

Built in 1887, Lion Block is a two-story Victorian-era commercial block in downtown Ness City across the street from the Ness County Courthouse. Area stonemason Henry Tilley contributed his artistic talents to the construction of the building, which is known for its highly decorative stone motifs and carved stone lion that sits atop the parapet wall. The Lion Block is nominated to the National Register for its architectural significance as a highly decorative and unique Italianate-style commercial building.

Ness County Bank

Picture of property Main and Pennsylvania
Ness City (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 1972-02-23

Architect: James Holland
Category: financial institution

Ness County Bridge FS-450

Picture of property County Road 20
Bazine vicinity (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 2017-03-27

Architect: Unknown
Category: transportation
Thematic Nomination: Masonry Arch Bridges of Kansas

Built in circa 1935, Ness County Bridge FS-450 is nominated for its local significance as a native limestone triple-arch bridge. Although built within the time period of the New Deal era, no known primary information ties this bridge’s construction to a New Deal projects. What is known is that Ness County Bridge FS-450 is one of at least ten similar bridges constructed in the county between circa 1928 and circa 1941; although, it is the only one of the ten with decorative sidewalls.

Pawnee River Tributary Bridge

Picture of property 8 miles south of Bazine
Bazine (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 1985-07-02

Architect: Not listed
Category: road-related
Thematic Nomination: Masonry Arch Bridges of Kansas

Thornburg Barn

Picture of property County Road A, 1/2m west of D Road
Utica (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 2009-04-08

Architect: Thornburg, Wallie O., Builder
Category: agricultural outbuilding; animal facility
Thematic Nomination: Historic Agriculture Related Resources of Kansas

The Thornburg Barn located northwest of Utica is notably distinguished not only by its roof form but also by the techniques used in its construction. The barn was built in 1929 from a Sears Roebuck Company mail-order kit upon a hand-formed concrete block foundation. The catalog also provided the recipe for the foundations and floors. The foundation blocks have a rusticated stone face finish and were created on-site using a block machine. A reprint of the 1919 Sears Roebuck Book of Barns includes models similar to the Thornburg Barn, namely the "Country Gentleman Modern Barn".

Tilley, Henry, House aka Prairie Cottage Guest House

Picture of property 108 W 2nd St
Ransom (Ness County)
Listed in National Register 2006-11-21

Architect: Henry Tilley
Category: single dwelling

The Henry Tilley House is a single-story, four-room limestone structure that was built in 1898 by Henry Tilley, a local stonemason and artisan. He contributed to the construction of many buildings in Ness County during that time period. The Tilley house is nominated for its architectural significance as a limestone vernacular structure.

New Search