Jump to Navigation

National and State Registers of Historic Places

Results of Query:

Records: All Properties

New Search

Page 8 of 180 showing 10 records of 1796 total, starting on record 71
4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

Auld Stone Barn

Picture of property 255 Utah Rd
Wakefield (Clay County)
Listed in National Register Oct 14, 2001

Architect: James Auld
Area of Significance: animal facility
Architectural Style(s): Other

Built to breed and raise horses, the Auld Stone Barn was constructed 1908-1910 by its owner James Auld. Nominated for its architecture, the barn features a native limestone foundation and base and wood and metal sheathing on the upper level. Three gabled dormers line the south-facing elevation. Arched stone openings run along the south-facing elevation that Auld himself cut and constructed.

Austin Bridge

Picture of property S of E 21st Street along West side of S Santa Fe Ave
Chanute (Neosho County)
Listed in National Register Sep 15, 1977

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: road-related
Architectural Style(s): Bridge

AXA Building

Picture of property 205 S 5th
Leavenworth (Leavenworth County)
Listed in National Register Mar 16, 1972

Architect: William P. Feth
Area of Significance: professional; business
Architectural Style(s): Beaux Arts

Babbitt-Doerr House

Picture of property 423 West 5th Street
Larned (Pawnee County)
Listed in National Register Apr 20, 1995

Architect: Not listed
Area of Significance: secondary structure; single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Queen Anne

The Babbitt-Doerr House is a one-and-one-half story Queen Anne residence constructed circa 1886 for George and Adaline Wadsworth. The house was sold to J.C. Babbitt in 1887 and to Albert Doerr, a successful businessman and former state representative, in 1907. The exterior features elaborate spindle work, fish scale shingles, and an asymmetrical form typical of Queen Anne residences of the period. It was nominated for its association with the growth and development of Larned, for its association with Albert Doerr, and for its architectural significance.

Bailey, E. H. S., House

Picture of property 1101 Ohio Street
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in State Register Nov 22, 2008

Architect: Griffith, William Alexander
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Colonial Revival

On the eastern slope of Lawrence's Mount Oread, the Bailey House is just a few blocks from the University of Kansas campus and is a contributing resource in the National Register-listed Oread Historic District. As the university expanded in the early 1900s, this neighborhood became a popular place for faculty and staff to build residences. Artist and architect William Alexander Griffith designed the house, which was erected in 1908 as a residence for E. H. S. Bailey, head of KU's chemistry department from 1883 to 1933. Bailey Hall on the KU campus was built in 1905 to house the chemistry department, and is listed in the National Register in part for its associations with Bailey as a reflection of his successful career. His residence, which blends several popular styles of the early 1900s including Richardsonian Romanesque, Dutch Colonial Revival, and Craftsman, is nominated for its architectural significance.

Bailey Hall

Picture of property Jct. Of Jayhawk Dr. and Sunflower Rd.
Lawrence (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register Oct 22, 2001

Architect: John Haskell
Area of Significance: college
Architectural Style(s): Romanesque

Bailey, Wells P., House

Picture of property Lyndon City Park, 131 West 11th Street
Lyndon (Osage County)
Listed in State Register Aug 14, 2010

Architect: Bailey, Wells P.
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Other

Built in about 1870, the Wells P. Bailey House is a one-and-a-half-story hewn-log residence that was relocated in 1997 from a farmstead two miles east of Lyndon to the Lyndon City Park. The house is rectangular and measures approximately 18 feet by 27 feet. It features a double-pen plan, which closely resembles the center-hall plan commonly found in mid- and late-nineteenth century vernacular residential architecture in Kansas. By 1896, the house was clad with wood clapboard siding, which was removed prior to the relocation. Bailey was a trained machinist and moved his family to Wabaunsee County, Kansas in 1866, before preempting a 160-acre claim in Osage County, near Lyndon, in 1870. He farmed and worked as a milling machinist. Bailey was related to Judge L.D. Bailey, one of the founders of Lyndon, and who named the town after Lyndon, Vermont. The house was nominated for its architectural significance.

Baker, Cassius & Adelia, House

Picture of property 609 Elm Street
Wamego (Pottawatomie County)
Listed in National Register Jun 25, 2013

Architect: Undetermined
Area of Significance: domestic
Architectural Style(s): Bungalow/Craftsman

Built in 1910, this Craftsman-style house was first home to Cassius and Adelia Baker, who had moved to Wamego in 1869. He was a prominent member of the local business community and was a founding member and president of the Commercial Club, a predecessor of the Chamber of Commerce. He also was active in civic affairs, serving as mayor of the city, Township clerk, trustee, and treasurer. The couple had witnessed the development of Wamego from a small river town of a few hundred people to a thriving railroad center with nearly 2,000 residents. The Baker House is located one block west of the downtown and is an excellent example of a Craftsman-style residence. It was nominated for its local significance in the area of architecture.

Baker, Francis and Harriet, House

Picture of property 823 N 5th St
Atchison (Atchison County)
Listed in National Register Aug 28, 2003

Architect: Walter C. Root
Area of Significance: single dwelling
Architectural Style(s): Mission

The Baker House is a large three-story stone residence that was designed by Kansas City-based architect Walter C. Root and completed in 1902. The house has an asymmetrical cube design and reflects a regional interpretation of the Mission style. There is a two-story carriage house that originally contained horse stalls on the ground floor with living quarters above and the home's heating equipment below in the basement. The property is locally significant in the area of architecture.

Baldwin City School & Gymnasium/Auditorium

Picture of property 704 Chapel Street
Baldwin City (Douglas County)
Listed in National Register Jul 7, 2015

Architect: Smith, Charles A.; Williamson, Thomas
Area of Significance: school
Architectural Style(s): Classical Revival; Commercial Style; Moderne
Thematic Nomination: Historic Public Schools of KansasNew Deal-era Resources of Kansas

Kansas City-based architect Charles A. Smith designed the Baldwin City School, which opened in January 1923. The building embodies Progressive-era tenets particularly involving specialized classrooms. It hosted both elementary and high school classes until a new high school was built in 1969. Topeka-based architect Thomas W. Williamson designed a detached auditorium and gymnasium that was completed in 1942 as part of the Work Projects Administration program. Both buildings functioned as a part of the local public school system until 2011. The property is nominated as part of the "Historic Public Schools of Kansas" and "New Deal-era Resources of Kansas" multiple property nominations.

4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

New Search